A reference for the numbers printed on bed listings · MattressRestFalls sells nothing directly; product buttons lead to Amazon

MattressRestFalls

Agreements

Frame height and what goes under it

Frame height

Size
12 of 12 listings
Height
10 of 12 listings
Thickness
not stated by the manufacturer
Pocket
not stated by the manufacturer

Stated frame height in inches: stated by 10 listings, left out by 2 listings. Part: The frame.

Clearance under the frame

Size
12 of 12 listings
Storage named
7 of 12 listings
Clearance
not stated by the manufacturer
Capacity
2 of 12 listings

A stated gap between the floor and the underside of the frame: stated by 0 listings, left out by 12 listings. Part: The frame.

Cannot be checked

Whatever goes under the bed has to fit the gap below the frame, and that gap is the number the listings leave out.

Every listing that states it

10 rows, grouped by the part each listing is filed under.

A frame listing prints a height. It is easy to read that height as the room underneath, and the listings give no support for the reading: the figure is the frame’s, and none of the descriptions says how it is measured or how much of it is open below.

Seven of the twelve frame listings mention storage underneath, in wording that runs from storage space to large under-bed storage. Zero give that space a height.

Nine of the ten frames with a stated height give the same 14 in, which makes height a poor way to tell them apart and no way at all to size what goes below.

What goes wrong

Planning for the space under a bed from the frame height. The frame height is not the clearance, and the clearance is not stated.

What the listings do not say

The gap below the frame, the height of the slats above the floor and how either is measured. Capacity figures, where printed, are quoted and not confirmed.

Check it with a tool

Size names by category are counted in the Size Coverage Check.

Sources